Oldham County Clerk
Julie K. Barr
Marriage licenses are only available at the LaGrange office.
Did you know the County Clerk is responsible for issuing marriage licenses?
Marriage licenses will be issued only if an appointment is made.
Office hours may change during this time.
Below are the requirements that must be met in order to receive a marriage license in Kentucky.
402.210 Requirements for issuance of license.
- Both parties to a marriage shall:
- Be present for a marriage license to be issued; and
- Present to the county clerk documentary proof of age in the form of:
- A copy of a birth record;
- A certification of birth issued by the state department of health, a local registrar of vital statistics, or other public office charged with similar duties by the laws of another state, territory, or country;
- A baptismal record showing the individual’s date of birth;
- A passport;
- An automobile driver’s license;
- Any government or school issued identification card showing the individual’s date of birth;
- An immigration record showing the individual’s date of birth;
- A naturalization record showing the individual’s date of birth; or
- A court record or any other document or record issued by a government entity showing the individual’s date of birth.
- If either of the parties is under seventeen (17) years of age, no license shall be issued.
- If either of the parties is seventeen (17) years of age, a marriage license shall not be issued unless:
- The party who is seventeen (17) years of age presents to the clerk a certified copy of a court order by a family court or District Court judge that grants the party permission to marry and removes the party’s disability of minority, as provided in KRS 402.205; and
- At least fifteen (15) days have elapsed since the court order was granted.
Effective: July 14, 2018
History: Amended 2018 Ky. Acts ch. 36, sec. 4, effective July 14, 2018. — Amended 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 122, sec. 3, effective March 26, 1998 and ch. 258, sec. 6, effective July 15, 1998. — Amended 1988 Ky. Acts ch. 212, sec. 3, effective July 15, 1988. — Amended 1974 Ky. Acts ch. 386, sec. 93. — Amended 1968 Ky. Acts ch. 100, sec. 15. — Recodified 1942 Ky. Acts ch. 208, sec. 1, effective October 1, 1942, from Ky. Stat. sec. 2106.
- The marriage license is valid for 30 days, including the date issued.
- The marriage license is valid anywhere in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.
- Both must present an acceptable form of ID, such as a valid state issued picture id, valid driver’s license, or valid passport.
- There is a $50.00 fee for the license. We accept cash or an in-state check (only from applicants).